Logic Pro Files

Logic Pro system requirements: what your Mac or iPad needs

By the Logic Pro Files TeamLast checked 3 November 20266 min read
Schematic of a Mac laptop and an iPad with checklist tags for chip, OS version, memory and storage.

Quick answer

Logic Pro 12 for Mac requires macOS 15.6 or later and a Mac with Apple silicon; Apple's current pages list no Intel Macs. Logic Pro for iPad requires iPadOS 26 or later and an iPad with an A12 Bionic chip or newer, with some features needing an A17 Pro or later. Apple does not publish RAM or disk figures for Logic Pro, so treat 16 GB and a fast SSD with plenty of free space as a sensible baseline rather than an Apple rule.

Platform and version

Mac: Yes macOS 15.6 or later, Apple silicon only
iPad: Yes iPadOS 26 or later, A12 Bionic or later; some features need A17 Pro or later
Checked with Logic Pro 12 on macOS 15.6 / Logic Pro for iPad on iPadOS 26 (Apple documentation) · Last checked 3 November 2026

Check your Mac or iPad against the requirements

Apple's published requirements are short. The steps below confirm each one on your own device in a couple of minutes.

  1. Find your Mac's chip. Choose Apple menu > About This Mac. The line that reads Chip must name an Apple chip (M1, M2, M3, M4 or later). If it reads Processor with an Intel name, Logic Pro 12 is not offered for that Mac.
  2. Check your macOS version. The same window shows the macOS version. Logic Pro 12 needs macOS 15.6 or later according to Apple's Logic Pro page. Update through System Settings > General > Software Update if you are behind.
  3. Note your memory. About This Mac lists unified memory. Apple gives no minimum for Logic Pro, but larger sample-based instruments and many plug-ins benefit from 16 GB or more.
  4. Check free storage. Open System Settings > General > Storage. Leave room for the app, the sounds you choose to download, and your projects. Audio recordings grow fast: one minute of 24-bit, 48 kHz stereo is roughly 17 MB.
  5. On iPad, find the chip. Open Settings > General > About and read the Model Name. Any iPad with an A12 Bionic or later qualifies; Apple notes some features need an A17 Pro or later. iPad Pro and iPad Air models with M-series chips are comfortably above the line.
  6. Check iPadOS. The same screen shows the software version. Logic Pro for iPad needs iPadOS 26 or later; update via Settings > General > Software Update.
  7. Plan your audio interface. Logic Pro works with the built-in output, but for recording use a class-compliant USB interface. On Mac it appears under Logic Pro > Settings > Audio > Devices (called Preferences on macOS 12 or earlier). On iPad it connects through USB-C and appears in the same Audio settings inside the app.
  8. Decide where the Sound Library lives. After installing, use Logic Pro > Sound Library > Relocate Sound Library to move it to an external SSD if your internal drive is small.
Two-column checklist schematic: Mac column shows Apple silicon and macOS 15.6+; iPad column shows A12 Bionic+ and iPadOS 26+.
Two-column checklist schematic: Mac column shows Apple silicon and macOS 15.6+; iPad column shows A12 Bionic+ and iPadOS 26+.

Required versus recommended, with Apple's figures where they exist

Apple publishes only the chip and OS requirements. Everything in the recommended column is our practical guidance, not an Apple specification, and we say so where Apple gives no number.

ItemApple requirement (Mac)Apple requirement (iPad)Practical recommendation
ChipApple silicon (M-series)A12 Bionic or later; some features need A17 Pro or laterM2 or later Mac, M-series iPad, for large projects
Operating systemmacOS 15.6 or lateriPadOS 26 or laterStay on the latest point release; Apple notes full Creator Studio functionality arrives with macOS 27 and iPadOS 27
RAM / unified memoryNot published by AppleNot published by Apple16 GB for mixed audio and instrument projects; 32 GB or more for orchestral sample libraries
Storage for the app and soundsNot published on Apple's specs pageNot published on Apple's specs pageKeep at least 100 GB free before downloading the full Sound Library; an external APFS SSD is the easiest way to add room
Project driveNot specifiedInternal storage or USB-C driveA dedicated external SSD formatted APFS, as recommended in Apple's system-overload support note
Audio interfaceNot requiredNot requiredAny class-compliant USB interface; check the maker's macOS 15 and iPadOS 26 driver notes
DisplayNot specifiedBuilt-inA second display helps on Mac; on iPad an external display is supported on models with USB-C

Intel Macs

Apple's Creator Studio requirements page and the Logic Pro product page both list Apple silicon as the only supported Mac hardware for Logic Pro 12. Apple does not say on those pages which earlier Logic Pro versions ran on Intel Macs, and we do not make claims beyond what the specs page states. If your Mac has an Intel processor, the current Logic Pro is not available for it; the Mac App Store will not offer the download.

A note on the macOS figure

Apple's Logic Pro and trial pages state macOS 15.6 or later. The Creator Studio support article we fetched on 3 November 2026 lists macOS 15.4 in its Logic Pro line. Treat 15.6 as the safe target; Apple's own Logic Pro page is the stricter of the two.

Sound Library storage

Apple's specs page does not give a size for the Sound Library, and the Logic Pro product page describes it only as an expanding collection. The app installs a core set of sounds on first launch and lets you download the rest selectively from Logic Pro > Sound Library > Open Sound Library Manager, where each package shows its own size before you download it. That window is the authoritative figure for your installation.

Storage layout schematic: internal SSD holds macOS and Logic Pro; external APFS SSD holds the Sound Library and project folders.
Storage layout schematic: internal SSD holds macOS and Logic Pro; external APFS SSD holds the Sound Library and project folders.

Next steps

FAQ

Does Logic Pro 12 run on an Intel Mac?

Apple's current requirements list only Macs with Apple silicon on macOS 15.6 or later, so Logic Pro 12 is not offered for Intel Macs.

How much RAM does Logic Pro need?

Apple does not publish a RAM figure. 16 GB covers most audio and instrument projects; large orchestral libraries push you toward 32 GB or more.

How big is the Logic Pro Sound Library?

Apple's specs page gives no total. The Sound Library Manager inside Logic Pro shows the size of each package, and you can download only what you need.

Which iPads run Logic Pro?

Any iPad with an A12 Bionic chip or later on iPadOS 26 or later, according to Apple. Some features require an A17 Pro or later.

Can I keep the Sound Library on an external drive?

Yes. Use Logic Pro > Sound Library > Relocate Sound Library and choose the external drive; a fast SSD is best.

Do I need an audio interface?

No. Logic Pro records from the built-in microphone and plays through the built-in output, but a class-compliant USB interface gives you lower latency and better preamps.

Which macOS version is the real minimum, 15.4 or 15.6?

Apple's Logic Pro page says 15.6; the Creator Studio support article lists 15.4. Aim for 15.6 or later to be safe.